Kunstmuseum aan zee Collecties van
de Provincie
West-Vlaanderen en
de Stad Oostende

Exhibition

Au Fond. Katleen Vinck & Wim Wauman.

Au Fond. Katleen Vinck & Wim Wauman – Modern art between landscape and scenography

Out of a desire to express his feelings when observing a landscape, Permeke painted with quick brushstrokes. In so doing, he reduced his environment to its very essence, and enriched the landscape with personal impressions. Today, Katleen Vinck and Wim Wauman, in turn, approach reality from their own unique perspectives. Both artists reflect upon the actuality of backdrops and elevate the ‘scene’ to the subject of their work. Whereas Permeke manipulated the existing landscape in the function of an expression, Katleen Vinck and Wim Wauman construct their own landscapes out of various materials and props.

Katleen Vinck analyzes the existing architectural landscape by reconstructing certain elements. She develops ‘stagings’ of places that are often a kind of pastiche. By imitating creations that have evolved spontaneously, interesting hybrids between nature and culture tend to emerge. Grottos in places of pilgrimage are intended to evoke an impression of authenticity, but they are ultimately archetypes that tend to be copied by people with little imagination. From her background in architecture and scenography, Katleen Vinck is profoundly drawn to the types of structures that defy categorization. Her sculptures and photographs also fall between copy and original, and between autonomous object and decor.

A similar interest in scenography is prominent in the recent work of Wim Wauman. Departing from the path of ‘photography as a window on the world’, he decided to construct his own images from a tabula rasa. In his studio, he assembles and photographs compositions of found objects and gifts from other artists. The strategic use of studio lighting, the dominant camera position and clever puzzle of objects and wooden panels emphasize the theatricality of these scenes. Wim Wauman increasingly approaches the constructions for his still lifes as autonomous entities. Through an experimental translation process, from two to three-dimensional work (and vice versa), and the use of traditional techniques, he extends his artistic production with handmade pieces of scenery, wooden objects and other props. In this way, he examines the intuitive interplay between ‘thinking’ and ‘making’ which lies at the basis of his creative process.



Overview past exhibitions »

26/06/2016 - 13/11/2016

Kunstmuseum aan zee Collecties van
de Vlaamse Gemeenschap
en
Stad Oostende

Exposition

Au Fond. Katleen Vinck & Wim Wauman.

Au Fond. Katleen Vinck & Wim Wauman – Art contemporain entre paysage et scénographie

Constant Permeke était animé d’un besoin puissant d’exprimer ses sensations devant un paysage lorsqu’il peignait à grands coups de pinceau rapides. Il réduisait ainsi son environnement à son essence et l’enrichissait d’impressions personnelles. Katleen Vinck et Wim Wauman approchent aussi leur réalité sous un angle qui leur est propre. Les deux artistes contemporains s’interrogent sur la réalisation de décors et élèvent la ‘scène’ au rang d’objet de leur travail artistique. Là où Constant Permeke manipulait le paysage qu’il contemplait en fonction d’une expression, Katleen Vinck et Wim Wauman construisent eux un paysage à partir de divers matériaux et accessoires.

Katleen Vinck analyse le paysage architectural en en reconstituant certains éléments. Elle met ainsi en scène des lieux à la manière d’un pastiche. En imitant des créations qui ont grandi spontanément, elle produit des formes qui fondent nature et culture. Les formations rocheuses de lieux de pèlerinage donnent ainsi une impression d’authenticité, mais sont en fait des archétypes que l’être humain imite sans grande imagination. De par sa formation d’architecte et de scénographe, Katleen Vinck se sent fortement attirée par de telles structures inclassables. Ses images et ses photos se situent entre la copie et l’original, entre l’objet autonome et le décor.

Le travail artistique récent de Wim Wauman témoigne d’un intérêt similaire pour la scénographie. Il a délaissé la voie de la photographie, lucarne du monde, faisant table rase pour construire des images inédites. Il assemble et photographie dans son studio des compositions d’objets trouvés et de dons d’autres artistes. L’utilisation stratégique de l’éclairage de studio, la position dominante de l’appareil photo et le puzzle sophistiqué d’objets et de panneaux en bois donnent à ces scènes une dimension théâtrale. Wim Wauman considère toujours les constructions de ses natures mortes comme des entités autonomes. En expérimentant avec la traduction du bidimensionnel en tridimensionnel et inversement, il élargit sa pratique artistique à des éléments de décor, des objets en bois et autres accessoires faits main. Il explore de cette manière l’interaction intuitive entre la pensée et la réalisation, qui constitue la base de son processus créatif. 



Aperçu des expositions passées »

26/06/2016 - 13/11/2016