Kunstmuseum aan zee Collecties van
de Provincie
West-Vlaanderen en
de Stad Oostende

Exhibition

Joe Scanlan - Part I Object Lesson

Till 7 October Object Lesson, by the American artist Joe Scanlan, can be admired in the entrance hall of Mu.ZEE. You can best describe an object lesson as a situation in which the characteristics and behaviour of an object are so obvious that words are almost superfluous. So if you want to describe something it is best just to observe it as it is.

Part I, Object Lesson, shows 19 Nesting Bookcases (1990-now) bought by Mu.ZEE. During Part II, Truffle finds pig the inhabitants of Ostend will be able to borrow the Nesting Bookcases from the museum and give them a place at home or in businesses all over the city.

In terms of aesthetics the Nesting Bookcase tends towards minimalism and arte povera.  From a practical point of view the Nesting Bookcase stems from the long tradition of portable American design. The Nesting Bookcase is Scanlan’s stamp on contemporary art. Objects that are interesting both to look at and to actually use. They consist of a rectangular compartment with four independent shelves, each one a little smaller than the next so that they “nestle” into each other and into the compartment. The compartment and the shelves are perforated so that they can be transported with a strap when they are nestled into each other. If they’re piled up then the strap serves as a structural guy line to stabilise them. At Mu.ZEE these two main functions – at rest or in motion – are mirrored by the two institutions that are involved in the exhibition - the museum and the city.

Object Lesson is accompanied by a beautiful two-part publication, brought out by Mu.ZEE, developed by DexterSinister, New York, and distributed by Walther König Buchhandlung, Cologne.

Part II     Truffle finds pig, from 7/10/2012


Overview past exhibitions »

07/07/2012 - 07/10/2012

€7 single adult
€5 55+, groups ≥15 pp
€1 13-26 years old
Free up to 12 years

Guide :€60

Kunstmuseum aan zee Collecties van
de Vlaamse Gemeenschap
en
Stad Oostende

Exposition

Joe Scanlan - Part I Object Lesson

Le hall d’entrée du Mu.ZEE accueille jusqu’au 7 octobre Object Lesson de l’artiste américain Joe Scanlan. En anglais, le concept « object lesson » recouvre toute situation dans laquelle les qualités et propriétés d’un objet sont à ce point évidentes que la description de cet objet ne requiert que peu ou pas de mots. La meilleure description possible pour l’objet consiste tout simplement à observer comment il existe.

La Ire partie, Object Lesson, présente 19 Nesting Bookcases (1990-) acquis récemment par le Mu.ZEE. Lors de la IIe partie, Truffle finds pig, ces œuvres d’art seront prêtées par le musée à des habitants d’Ostende et installées dans des maisons et entreprises de la ville.

Esthétiquement, la Nesting Bookcase présente des affinités avec le Minimalisme et l’Arte Povera. Concrètement, la Nesting Bookcase prend sa source dans la longue tradition du design américain portable. Il s’agit d’une œuvre contemporaine signée Scanlan, un objet aussi intéressant à contempler que fonctionnel. Elle se compose d’une armoire rectangulaire qui intègre quatre étagères indépendantes, chacune un peu plus petite que la suivante, de façon à ce qu’elles puissent se « nicher » les unes dans les autres ainsi que dans l’armoire centrale. L’armoire et les étagères sont perforées pour pouvoir y placer une sangle permettant de les transporter lorsqu’elles sont nichées, et servant de corde de tension structurelle pour les fixer lorsqu’elles sont installées. Au Mu.ZEE, ces deux configurations essentielles — au repos ou en mouvement — seront réfléchies par les institutions impliquées dans sa présentation — le musée et la ville.

Object Lesson sera accompagnée d’une ingénieuse publication en deux parties publiée par le Mu.ZEE d’Ostende, conçue par DexterSinister de New York, et distribuée par les éditions Walther König de Cologne.

Part II     Truffle finds pig, à partir du 7/10/2012


Aperçu des expositions passées »

07/07/2012 - 07/10/2012
€7 individuel
€5 55+, groupes ≥15 pp
€1 13-26 ans
Gratis jusqu’à 12 ans

Guide :€60